Success – To put pen to paper

So, my challenge a couple of weeks ago was to put pen to paper each day for 7 days. I succeeded!

I got off to a great start on Monday using an exercise entitled Zoom In. This involves placing yourself high above a location (in this case the final scene of my story) and working your way down noting points from all the senses. A little like a bird swooping in. It enabled me to get right into the scene.

Tuesday and Wednesday were a little more sporadic and all I managed to write on Wednesday was my journal, but as that falls by the wayside most days it was nice to curl up in bed and allow a flow of words about life to fall to the page.

For the remaining days I was able to build upon Mondays work, complete a further exercise from a writing magazine and write an entry for this blog. Opportunities included writing on a train journey, sat in the car in a quiet spot whilst the girls had their afternoon sleep and simply at the dining room table.

I discovered the trick was not to procrastinate (I love that word!) and always have a couple of notebooks with different ideas and projects to hand so you can get straight on with an idea. I do find the smaller the amount of time, the quicker I can assimilate my thoughts and really write something useful. I recently had a whole day to myself and only wrote the most meaningful prose in the last couple of hours!

I highly recommend this challenge!

Leave a Reply

